Home Your Council Who We Are Civic and Ceremonial

Civic and Ceremonial

Town Crier​

The Town Council has in the past appointed a town crier but at present the post is vacant following the retirement of the last town crier.​

Twin Towns​

Crewkerne is twinned with Igny, Essonne and Bures-sur-Yvette in France. The deeds recognising this are held amongst the civic regalia in the Town Hall.​

​Civic Regalia​

The Mayor and Deputy Mayor hold chains of office.​

​Citizenship Award​

​Following suggestions from a number of townspeople, the Town Council decided in 1997 to create a Crewkerne Citizenship Award. The purpose of this award is to enable the town to recognise those who have contributed most towards the benefit of the town and its citizens. To maintain their special status, awards are limited to a maximum of two per year, and presented at the Annual Town Meeting. The recipients are titled Honoured Citizens of Crewkerne and receive a framed certificate as a permanent record of the award and their names are recorded on a board in the Council Chamber at the Town Hall.​

Nominations are called for by the Town Council advertising in the local press in the early part of each year.​

Any person on the parliamentary electoral roll for Crewkerne is eligible to put forward candidates for selection, following processes to be confirmed by the Town Council. To be considered for selection, nominations from three separate people is required: these should be kept confidential and the nominee should not be aware that his or her name has been put forward. Selection is made by a Committee consisting of the current Mayor and Deputy Mayor plus the five most recent past Mayors.​

​In 2021, the Mayor of Crewkerne, Councillor Kathy Head, made a special award recognising significant contribution to the community during the Covid-19 pandemic. Instead of an Honoured Citizen Award, Councillor Head presented a Mayor’s Award to Crewkerne Community Church, for their ‘Be A Good Neighbour’ scheme.​

​A list of Crewkerne’s Honoured Citizens and more information about the Mayor and Deputy Mayor can be found on the following pages.

10 September 2021
Last Updated
3 November 2022